Georgia Personal Injury Statute of Limitations – What You Should Know
“You may delay, but time will not,” ~ Benjamin Franklin
The above quote rings true for every aspect of life – even life in the court system. Each of the 50 states has deadlines known as the “statute of limitations” which determine the amount of time you have to file a lawsuit. The time period differs for civil claims and criminal charges and all involved – judges, lawyers, plaintiffs, defendants, etc., — must obey these deadlines.
Important things to know about Georgia personal injury claim deadlines
A personal injury claim falls under the civil case category. Typically, you have two years from the date of the injury or death to file a claim with the court. Failure to file your claim within the Statute of Limitations time period will deem your claim forever void. Most personal injury lawsuits in Georgia – whether regarding intentional acts done on purpose or negligence – must meet this deadline.
Georgia Civil Case Statute Of Limitations
|Type of claim||Deadline|
|Car, truck, or motorcycle accident||2 years|
|Product liability (defective product)||2 years|
|Wrongful death||2 years|
|Libel or slander||1 year|
|Medical malpractice||2 years with maximum of 5 years|
|Property damage||4 years|
|Assault and battery||2 years|
|False imprisonment||2 years|
|Breach of contract||6 years for written; 4 years for oral|
|Legal malpractice||4 years|
|Other personal injury||2 years|
|Dog bite||2 years|
There are a few, extremely rare, cases, which can extend the Statute of Limitations deadline. Some examples of what factors may allow this to occur include: minority age, mental incapacity, and fraud. There are others and to see details about these possible exceptions, consult the Official Code Annotated of Georgia section 9-3-33.
Get Georgia’s best personal injury lawyer on your side
If you have suffered a personal injury, carefully consider whether you want to file a claim seeking financial compensation for your lost income, pain and suffering, and other expenses. Two years is a short window of time for filing your lawsuit, so it’s imperative that you consult with an experienced Georgia personal injury attorney like Kathryn Burmeister of Burmeister Law Firm. Your consultation is always free and the sooner she has the details surrounding your injuries as well as other evidence, the better your chances of getting the compensation your deserve.